Wiki

Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO)

Everything about the UBO, i.e. Ultimate Beneficial Owner

Companies are increasingly expected to understand who they are doing business with. This serves to prevent doing business with mala fide parties. Any institutions that fall within the scope of the Anti-Money Laundering and Anti-Terrorist Financing Act (Wwft) must retrieve the identity of the UBO (the ultimate beneficial owner) of their business relations on a mandatory basis. The legislation is complex, however, and the fines are high. This page provides answers to all your questions relating to UBO legislation. What exactly is a UBO? Is it mandatory for your company to disclose the UBO? How do you perform the client screening and how can you prevent fines from supervisory bodies?

Reason for the UBO legislation

Countering fraud, in particular social and tax fraud has been a focal point in the past few years. Large-scale fraud is usually associated with inappropriate use of companies and commercial structures.

  • 60% of all inappropriately used entities are involved in financial and economic crimes.
  • 75% of known criminal organisations make use of commercial structures to mask their activities.

Serious, organised fraud is often hidden in an international business, designed to avoid identification of criminals and their network of shady firms. Fraudulent parties like making use of off-shore islands and tax havens. Investigators frequently find ‘ghost firms’ when delving into bankruptcy fraud, VAT fraud and other mala fide practices. Fictive addresses, PO boxes or registered seats in private homes of people, who have no idea, are frequent finds. Companies with a vague purpose or companies not depositing their annual financial statements are generally not a good sign either.

This sort of practices gave rise to the UBO legislation.

What is a UBO?

The abbreviation means Ultimate Beneficial Owner, i.e. the person or entity that is the ultimate beneficiary of the company. Certain financial and other organisations, including banks, currency exchange offices and insurers, are subject to mandatory disclosure of the UBO if doing business with any party. The underlying reason of this provision is preventing natural persons with malintent, such as money-laundering or financing terrorism, from being able to hide behind a company, foundation or other legal entity.

The ultimate beneficial owner of a legal entity is the natural person who:

  • holds an interest of at least 25% in the legal entity’s capital;

OR

  • can exercise at least 25% of the voting rights at the general meeting of shareholders

OR

  • is the beneficiary of at least 25% of the legal entity’s capital.

This is not always straightforward. It is hard to establish the UBO of a company with its registered office in Liechtenstein or on the island of Vanuatu.

How does money-laundering work?

Money-laundering means that large sums of money illegally gained (for example from selling drugs or weapons, human trafficking, prostitution, tax fraud, etc.) are pumped into the legal economy. Money-launderers try to hide the illegal provenance of the money.

The money-laundering process generally consists of three steps:

  1. Deposit: In the first phase, the money launderer brings the illegal funds into the financial circuit. The original sum is split into smaller pieces and deposited in different accounts. From these accounts, the sums are transferred to other accounts (generally in foreign countries).
  2. Veiling: The money launderer then executes a number of transfers to veil the origin of the funds. This is often based on layers of international company structures.​
  3. Integration: In the last phase, the sums are invested in the legal economy, such as purchasing real estate, luxury products or through capital increases.

How does terrorism financing work?

Financing terrorism means that money is raised or donated for terrorist purposes. In contrast to money laundering, where the aim is to hide the illegal origin of the funds, financing terrorism is all about hiding the illegal destination of the funds.

The procedure for financing terrorism is therefore slightly different. It generally concerns small amounts of money, which makes it difficult to trace in the first place. Only for larger amounts, the deposit phase will initiate the process as in money laundering. Terrorist networks also complete the veiling phase to escape the government’s radar and to hide the identity of the clients and beneficiaries. The integration phase is also skipped, as the amounts no longer surface in the legal money circuit, but are used for terrorist activities.

To transfer the money, terrorist organisations use smuggle routes or informal systems such as ‘hawala’ in addition to the regular banking circuit.

Hawala

​Hawala banks are ‘underground’ banks, which is a widely spread practice in the Middle East, Asia and Africa. This concerns an informal circuit that operates outside the traditional banking system. In the closed world of hawala, trust plays an essential role. A customer hands money to a banker and trusts that the money will be paid out to a beneficiary somewhere else in the world via a different banker. The customer does not receive any notification of handing over money. It is purely based on trust. The bankers settle mutual debts between them.

Initially, migrants used the system to transfer money to relatives in their country of origin in a cheap and quick way. The anti-money laundering measures, increasing supervision of financial transactions and the lack of any paper trail in hawala have made this alternative payment circuit also popular with criminals and terrorists. They see this as an ideal system to transfer funds from criminal origin or for tax evasion reasons to countries with less strict supervision.

Reporting unusual transactions

To counter money laundering and terrorism financing, thirty countries, including Belgium, founded the Financial Action Task Force in 1989. This international organisation defines recommendations for the member states, frequently evaluating the measures that member states have in place. In Belgium, the Cell for Financial Information Processing (‘CFI’) was founded in 1993. This government department is responsible for processing suspect financial transactions that are associated with money laundering and terrorism financing.

If money laundering or terrorism financing is suspected, you need to report this to CFI accordingly. The CFI receives both subjective and objective reports. Subjective reports are based on people’s suspicions of money laundering or terrorism financing.

The objective reports are based on statutory indications. Even in cases where no irregularities are suspected. This may include:

  • financial transactions in which companies are detected with a registered office in a tax haven;
  • companies who recently implemented a number of amendments to the articles of association (appointment of a new executive, change of objects, registered office or trade name);
  • irregularities in the invoices that are presented to account for financial transactions (missing VAT number, missing number of a financial account, missing invoice number, etc.).

Please do not inform the client of your report. CFI will further investigate and analyse this information. If there are serious indications of non-compliance, then the details will be submitted to the district attorney.

The reporting organisation has immunity and anonymity to prevent threats and aggression.

The Fourth Anti-Money Laundering Directive is currently the subject of European negotiations. This is the sequel to the Third Anti-Money Laundering Directive based on which the Wwft was introduced in 2008. The Fourth Anti-Money Laundering Directive is expected to be introduced in 2015.

The economic scale of money laundering and terrorism financing

Money laundering and terrorism financing transactions amount to between 400 and 1,000 billion euros according to IMF (International Monetary Fund). This is between 2.5 and 5 percent of the worldwide GDP.

In the past few years, the number of reports in Belgium saw a dramatic increase. In 2013, CFI received a total of 22,966 notifications (compared with 21,000 in 2012). All notifications were bundled in 5,063 new case files (compared with 4,002 in 2012). A total of 1,168 case files were transferred to the district attorney at an amount of almost 800 million euros. In almost all these case files, CFI found serious indications of money laundering or terrorism financing. According to the judicial authorities, this amount could be estimated at about 1.18 billion euros.

25% of these case files related to inappropriate use of company goods or bankruptcy offences. This was estimated to amount to 156 million euros.

In the period between 2009 - 2013, 140 of such cases were actually subject to a court sentence. This involved a total of 168 million euros in penalties and confiscations.

Is UBO screening mandatory for my company?

UBO screening is mandatory for organisation as set out in the Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (Prevention) Act. This includes banks, lease companies and insurers, solicitors, civil-law notaries, estate agents, currency exchange offices, investment institutions, accountants, company auditors, diamond traders, security companies, casinos and others. For a detailed list of all professional categories within the scope of the law, please refer to Section 1 of the Act.

How to perform UBO screening?

These are the general steps to take for UBO screening:

Step 1. Find the identity

Determining and checking the UBO identity are key elements of the screening. This check - also referred to as client screening - may be risk based. This means you may make a personal estimate of the risk of a business relation or transaction being part of money laundering or terrorism financing systems. The identity verification is generally based on the identity card, passport or Articles of Association if it concerns a company.

Step 2. Perform a compliance check

Once you have detected the identity, you should screen the UBO to estimate the risk. For example, is the UBO in PEP lists, inspection lists or sanction lists, or does it have negative publicity?  This could include the EU Freeze list, OFAC and the AFM Alert list.

Step 3. Prepare a risk estimate

If you fall within the scope of the Wwft, you must use objective indicators to class your clients into various risk categories, ranging from low to high. The nature and scale of the client screening may be adjusted to this risk assessment. The lower the risk, the less effort you need to make to reduce this risk.

  • Low risk

​For a low-risk client, a simplified client screening suffices. For example, asking the identity of the UBO and having the client sign a so-called UBO statement, on which your client notes the UBO details.

  • Mid to high risk

If a client is not physically present for identification or is a PEP (Politically Exposed Person), or if there are any indications of a higher risk of terrorism financing or money laundering, stricter client screening is required. 

Step 4. Filing in a uniform way

Additionally, it is important for you to assess your relations in a uniform and efficient way and file the ensuing information consistently. The identification data must be filed and updated for at least 5 years.

Penalties for non-compliance

It is important for you to accurately and structurally document your efforts. Ensure that you can demonstrate compliance with the Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (Prevention) Act in the event of announced or unannounced inspections. Due to the complexity and strict rules, an increasing number of organisations chose to automate the process. 

Penalties up to EUR 1,350,000 may be imposed for non-compliance.

These sanctions are separate from a range of other administrative or disciplinary sanctions that may be imposed.

Ultimate parent company

In addition to the Ultimate Beneficial Owner or UBO, there is something referred to as the Ultimate Parent Company (UPC). That is the company on the very top of the organisation structure.

Check the UBO of one of your business relations today.

Have one of your business partners fully screened today.

Perform the check free of charge

Sign up to our newsletter

Wiki

Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO)

Tout sur l’UBO ou Ultimate Beneficial Owner

De plus en plus, les entreprises sont supposées savoir avec qui elles font des affaires. Ceci, afin d’éviter de travailler avec des parties malhonnêtes. Les organisations assujetties à la Loi relative à la prévention de l'utilisation du système financier aux fins du blanchiment de capitaux et du financement du terrorisme sont obligées de contrôler l’identité de l’UBO (le bénéficiaire effectif en dernière analyse) de leurs relations d’affaires. Mais la législation est complexe et les amendes sont élevées. Cette page donne une réponse à toutes vos questions concernant la législation UBO. Qu'est-ce qu’un UBO exactement ? Votre entreprise doit-elle aussi contrôler l’UBO ? Comment évaluer vos clients et comment prévenir les amendes infligées par les instances de contrôle ?  

Justification de la législation UBO

La lutte contre la fraude, fiscale et sociale surtout, a bénéficié d'une attention toute particulière ces dernières années. La fraude à grande échelle passe souvent par l’utilisation abusive de sociétés et de structures commerciales.

  • 60% des personnes morales abusées sont concernées par des délits financiers et économiques. 
  • 75% des organisations criminelles connues font usage de structures commerciales pour masquer leurs activités. 

La fraude grave et organisée se déroule souvent à l’échelle internationale, ce qui rend très difficile l'identification des criminels et de leurs réseaux de sociétés écrans. Les fraudeurs passent souvent par des îles offshore et des paradis fiscaux. Les enquêteurs trouvent régulièrement des sociétés fantômes dans les dossiers de faillite frauduleuse, de fraude à la TVA et d'autres pratiques d'escroquerie. Les adresses fictives, les boîtes postales ou des sièges sociaux établis à l’adresse de particuliers (et qui l’ignorent) sont monnaie courante. Les sociétés ayant un objet vague ou les entreprises qui ne déposent pas leurs comptes annuels ne laissent généralement présager rien de bon non plus dans ce contexte.

C’est dans le cadre de ces pratiques illicites qu’a été promulguée la législation UBO.

Qu’est-ce qu’un UBO ?

L'abréviation UBO signifie Ultimate Beneficial Owner, ou bénéficiaire effectif en dernière analyse. Certaines organisations (financières), comme les banques, les bureaus de change et les assureurs, sont légalement obligées de contrôle l'identité de l'UBO lorsqu’elles travaillent avec une telle partie. Cette disposition a pour objectif d'empêcher des personnes physiques ayant de mauvaises intentions, comme par exemple le blanchiment d'argent ou le financement du terrorisme, de se cacher derrière une entreprise, une fondation ou une autre entité juridique.

Le bénéficiaire effectif d’une entité juridique est la personne physique qui :

  • a un intérêt d’au moins 25 pourcent dans le capital de la personne morale

OU

  • peut exercer au moins 25 pourcent des droits de vote dans une assemblée générale

OU

  • est bénéficiaire d’au moins 25 pourcent du patrimoine de la personne morale.

Ce n’est pas toujours simple. Essayez de savoir qui est l’UBO d’une entreprise dont le siège est sis au Liechtenstein ou sur l’île de Vanuatu.

Comment fonctionne le blanchiment d’argent ?

Dans le cadre du blanchiment d'argent, des sommes d'argent gagnées de manière illégale (ex. par le commerce de la drogue ou des armes, la traite des êtres humains, la prostitution, la fraude fiscale,...) sont injectées dans le circuit légal. Les ‘blanchisseurs’ essaient ainsi de masquer la provenance illégale de l’argent.

Le processus de blanchiment comporte trois étapes :

  1. Placement : Dans une première phase, le blanchisseur introduit les fonds illégaux dans le circuit financier. Pour ce faire, il fractionne la somme originale en petites parts, qu’il verse sur différents comptes. Ensuite, elles sont transférées sur d’autres comptes (souvent à l’étranger).
  2. Empilement : Ensuite, le blanchisseur effectue un certain nombre de transactions pour dissimuler l'origine de l’argent. Il fait souvent usage des structures de sociétés internationales pour ce faire.
  3. Intégration : Dans la dernière phase, les sommes d’argent sont à nouveau investies dans l’économie légale, par exemple par l’achat d’immobilier, de produits de luxe ou d'augmentations de capital.

Comment Fonctionne Le Financement Du Terrorisme ?

On entend par financement du terrorisme le fait de réunir ou de fournir des fonds à des fins terroristes. Contrairement au blanchiment d’argent, où l’on essaie de masquer l’origine illégale de l’argent, dans le financement du terrorisme, il s’agit de dissimuler la destination illégale de l'argent.

La procédure de financement du terrorisme se déroule d’ailleurs un peu autrement. Il s’agit souvent de petites sommes d'argent, ce qui les rend très difficiles à détecter. C’est seulement dans le cas de montants importants que le blanchisseur recourt à la phase de placement avant le processus, comme dans le cas du blanchiment d'argent. Les réseaux terroristes passent par la phase d’empilement pour éviter d’attirer l’attention des autorités et pour protéger l'identité de leurs commanditaires et des bénéficiaires. En revanche, ils ne recourent pas à la phase d’intégration, parce que les sommes n’entrent plus dans le circuit légal de l’argent, mais sont utilisées pour financer des activités terroristes.

Pour déplacer l’argent, les organisations terroristes utilisent, outre les techniques bancaires habituelles, aussi des routes de contrebande ou des systèmes informels comme le ‘hawala’.

Hawala

Le système Hawala ou banque souterraine est largement répandue au Moyen-Orient, en Asie et en Afrique. C’est un circuit d’argent informel fonctionnant en dehors du système bancaire traditionnel. Dans le monde fermé du hawala, la confiance joue un rôle essentiel. Un client remet de l’argent au banquier afin que cette somme soit payée au bénéficiaire via un autre banquier dans le monde. Le client ne reçoit pas de reçu pour l'argent qu'il a versé : tout est basé sur la confiance. Les banquiers se remboursent ensuite les sommes concernées.

Au début, les migrants utilisaient ce système pour transférer rapidement et à moindre frais de l’argent à leurs familles restées au pays. Les mesures anti-blanchiment, le contrôle accru des transactions financières et le manque de toute trace sur papier dans le cas du hawala ont rendu ce circuit d’argent alternatif très populaire dans le milieu du crime et du terrorisme. Il est considéré comme un système idéal pour transférer discrètement de l’argent criminel ou de l’argent noir dans des pays où les contrôles sont moins stricts.

Notification Des Transactions Atypiques

Pour lutter contre le blanchiment de l’argent et le financement du terrorisme, une trentaine d’États, dont la Belgique, ont créé en 1989 la Financial Action Task Force. Cette organisation internationale formule des recommandations pour les États membres et évalue régulièrement les mesures prises par ceux-ci. En Belgique a été créée en 1993 la Cellule de traitement des informations financières (CTIF). Ce service public est chargé de traiter les transactions financières suspectes en rapport avec le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme. 

Lorsqu’il y a suspicion de blanchiment d'argent ou de financement du terrorisme, vous devez le signaler à la CTIF. La CTIF reçoit des notifications objectives et subjectives. Les notifications subjectives reposent sur une suspicion de blanchiment d’argent ou de financement du terrorisme.

Les notifications objectives sont basées sur des indicateurs légaux. Même s’il n’y a pas suspicion d’irrégularités. Il s’agit par exemple :

  • d’opérations financières où interviennent des sociétés ayant leur siège social dans un paradis fiscal
  • de sociétés ayant apporté récemment des modifications à leurs statuts (nomination de nouveaux administrateurs, modification de l’objet, du siège social ou du nom)
  • d’irrégularités dans les factures présentées pour justifier les opérations financières (absence de numéro de TVA, de numéro d'un compte financier, du numéro de facture,...)

Dans un tel cas, vous ne devez pas en informer le client. C’est la CTIF qui se charge d’étudier et d’analyser les informations. S’il y a des indications sérieuses d'infraction à la loi, la cellule transmet les informations au procureur.

Les dénonciateurs bénéficient d'une garantie d’immunité et d’anonymat pour être protégés contre les menaces et les agressions.

En ce moment se déroulent au niveau européen des négociations pour la quatrième directive anti-blanchiment. Elle fera suite à la troisième directive anti-blanchiment, sur la base de laquelle a été édictée la Loi relative à la prévention du blanchement des capitaux et du financement du terrorisme. Cette quatrième directive anti-blanchiment devrait entrer en vigueur en 2015.

L'ampleur économique du blanchiment d’argent et du financement du terrorisme

Le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme représentent, selon le Fonds monétaire international (FMI), entre 400 et 1.000 milliards d’euros, soit de 2,5 à 5% du PIB mondial.

Les années passées, le nombre de notifications a sensiblement augmenté en Belgique. En 2013, la CTIF a reçu pratiquement 22.966 notifications (contre 21.000 en 2012). Toutes les notifications ont été compilées dans 5.063 nouveaux dossiers (contre 4.002 en 2012). Au total, 1.168 dossiers ont été transmis au parquet, pour un montant de près de 800 millions d’euros. La CTIF a trouvé dans tous ces dossiers des indications graves de blanchiment d’argent ou de financement du terrorisme. Après le calcul par les autorités judiciaires, ce montant a atteint 1,18 milliard d'euros. 

25% des dossiers concernaient des abus de bien sociaux ou des délits en rapports avec des faillites. Un montant de 156 millions était concerné.

Dans la période de 2009 à 2013, une condamnation a été prononcée dans 140 cas. Des amendes et des saisies pour un montant de 168 millions d’euros ont été prononcées.

La recherche de l’ubo est-elle obligatoire pour mon entreprise ?

La recherche de l’UBO est obligatoire pour les organisations fixées dans la Loi relative à la prévention du blanchiment de capitaux et du financement du terrorisme. Outre les banques, les sociétés de leasing et les assureurs, la loi s’applique aussi aux avocats, notaires, agents immobiliers, bureaux de change, organismes de placement, experts comptables, réviseurs d'entreprise, diamantaires, sociétés de surveillance, casinos,... Pour une liste détaillée de toutes les catégories professionnelles concernées par la loi, reportez-vous au chapitre 1.

Comment rechercher qui est l’ubo ?

Voici les étapes générales à franchir pour rechercher l'UBO : 

Étape 1. Contrôlez l’identité

La détermination et le contrôle de l’identité de l’UBO sont des éléments importants de l’enquête. Cette enquête – également appelée devoirs de vigilance à l’égard de la clientèle –peut s’effectuer sur base du risque. Cela signifie que vous pouvez effectuer vous-même une estimation du risque qu’implique une relation commerciale ou une transaction en termes de blanchiment d’argent ou de financement du terrorisme. Le contrôle de l’identité s’effectue le plus souvent sur la base de la carte d’identité, du passeport ou des statuts dans le cas d’une société.

Étape 2. Effectuez un contrôle de compliance 

Lorsque vous avez contrôlé l’identité, vous devez évaluer l'UBO pour pouvoir estimer le risque. L’UBO figure-t-il par exemple sur les listes PEP, les listes de contrôle, les listes de sanction ou y a-t-il une publicité négative ?  Songez par exemple à : la liste EU Freeze, OFAC et la liste des mises en garde de l’AMF.

Étape 3. Effectuez une analyse des risques

Si vous êtes soumis à la loi anti-blanchiment, vous devez classer vos clients dans des catégories de risque, sur la base d’indicateurs objectifs, variant de faible à élevé. La nature et l’ampleur des devoirs de vigilance à l’égard de la clientèle peuvent être adaptées à cette évaluation du risque. Plus le risque est faible, moins vous avez d’efforts à fournir pour réduire ce risque.

  • Risque faible

Pour un client à risque faible, des devoirs de vigilance simplifiée suffisent. Par exemple en demandant l’identité de l’UBO et en lui faisant signer la déclaration UBO, sur laquelle votre client note les coordonnées du ou des UBO. 

  • Risque moyen/élevé

Si un client n’est pas physiquement présent pour l’identification, s’il s'agit d'une Politically Exposed person (PEP) ou s’il y a des indications de risque plus élevé de financement du terrorisme ou de blanchiment d’argent, des devoirs de vigilance approfondis sont requis. 

Étape 4. Archivez de manière uniforme

Il importe également que vous contrôliez vos relations de manière uniforme et efficace et que vous les archiviez de manière systématique. Les données d’identification doivent être conservées et actualisées au moins pendant 5 ans. 

Amendes si vous ne respectez pas la loi

Il importe que vous  documentiez soigneusement et structurellement vos efforts, pour que vous puissiez démontrer que vous respectez la loi anti-blanchiment en cas de contrôle (inopiné). Les règles étant complexes et strictes, de plus en plus d'organisations choisissent d'automatiser le processus. 

Si vous ne respectez pas la loi, des amendes allant jusqu’à 1.350.000 EUR peuvent vous être infligées.

Sans compter d’autres sanctions administratives ou disciplinaires pouvant être prises contre vous.

Ultimate parent company

Outre l’Ultimate Beneficial Owner ou UBO, il existe aussi l’Ultimate Parent Company ou société mère effective. C’est l’entreprise qui se trouve tout en haut de la structure organisationnelle.

Contrôlez aujourd’hui encore l’ubo de l’une de vos relations d’affaires

Restez informé