Wiki

Database management

Your database continuously in top condition.

Company information is continually subject to change. Annually, an average of 10 percent of these data are updated. A Graydon survey showed that no less than one quarter of the data that companies are using are not correct. Database management serves to manage these data. This concerns saving, securing, updating and supplementing the data, and making the data available. The intention is to quickly retrieve contact details and other information. Correct and full information also form an important basis for analysis and valuable new marketing insights. This Wiki tells you about the importance of database management, the three key process steps and the benefit of a master data file.

Why is database management important?

Data and adequate data management are increasingly a factor in the success of businesses. You need correct data to perform analyses, determine profiles and support policy choices. Otherwise, there is a risk of drawing the wrong conclusions or making the wrong decisions based on obsolete information.

Using high-quality data, the marketing department can enhance its knowledge of the customers. That knowledge can be used by marketers to improve the customer experience.

To Finance, correct customer data are vital to improving the accounts receivable and invoicing process. Incorrect or obsolete data result in inefficiency, higher costs and even dissatisfaction among customers.

Consequences of an unclean database

  1. Using the wrong title for a contact does not make a good impression. Your message may come across, but this sort of errors immediately dents your reputation.
  2. If the name or address of the recipient is incorrect, chances are that your message does not even arrive. This is a significant waste of money if you are sending expensive catalogues or brochures. The same applies when approaching business relations that no longer exist.
  3. An incorrect address also leads to lost time. Think of invoices or quotations arriving at the wrong address.
  4. Double records form a key source of database pollution. This is why it is important to use a uniform format for address details in accordance with the official street register. This serves to avoid sending prospects double mailings or catalogues.
  5. Up-to-date data are required to enable correct analyses and preparing an objective profile of your customers. Do you miss data, or do you base decisions on obsolete, incorrect information? You may then also miss links, draw erratic conclusions and make the wrong decisions.

Database management in three steps

  • Updating and maintaining data. It is sensible to check the database for changes at least once a year, and to process such changes correctly in the central database.
  • Data enrichment. The existing data of a company are the starting point. Missing data can be added to this database from external sources, for example credit rating data. A complete address database is the foundation of efficient policy.
  • Automation. Changes and additions take place automatically if the database is linked to the databases of external specialist sources. This is a way to keep your database continuously up to date, preventing recontamination of your database.

Working with a master data file (master data management)

Where database management is about updating, maintaining and enrichment of the database, master data management takes it one step further. Master data are a unique key within a database. All these keys are saved to a central master data file and subsequently all databases of the company are linked to this master data file. If there are updates to the master data file, all databases are automatically updated accordingly. This promotes efficiency and decreases the risk of error.

Sign up to our newsletter

Wiki

Database management

Votre base de données toujours en parfait état.

Les données des entreprises changent constamment. Chaque année, 10% des données mutent en moyenne. Une étude de Graydon démontre que 25% des données avec lesquelles les entreprises travaillent sont erronées. Le database management concerne la gestion de ces données : il s'agit de stocker les données, de les sécuriser, de les actualiser, de les compléter et de les mettre à disposition. Ceci, dans le but de retrouver très rapidement les données de contact et d’autres informations. Mais des informations correctes et complètes sont également indispensables pour l'analyse et l'évaluation de (nouvelles) perspectives de marketing très précieuses. Cette page wiki explique l’importance du database management, quelles sont les trois principales étapes du processus de gestion des données et quel est l’avantage d’un fichier de base ou des master data.

Pourquoi le database management est-il important ?

Les données et leur (bonne) gestion deviennent de plus en plus déterminantes du succès des entreprises. Vous avez besoin de données correctes pour effectuer des analyses, établir des profils et étayer vos choix stratégiques. Sinon, vous risquez, sur la base d'informations obsolètes, de tirer des conclusions erronées et de prendre de mauvaises décisions.

Les fichiers d’adresses b2b belges comportent un quart d’informations erronées ou incomplètesAvec des données de bonne qualité, le département marketing peut améliorer sa connaissance des clients. Des connaissances que les marketeers peuvent utiliser pour améliorer la customer experience.

Pour les finances, des données correctes concernant les clients sont essentielles pour améliorer les procédures applicables aux débiteurs et à la facturation. Des données erronées ou obsolètes sont synonymes d'inefficacité, de coûts plus élevés, et même d'insatisfaction des clients.

Conséquences d’une base de données polluée

  1. Si vous vous trompez dans le titre de la personne de contact, vous ne ferez pas bonne impression. Le message passera, mais ce genre de petite erreur peut nuire à votre réputation.
  2. Si le nom ou l’adresse du destinataire ne sont pas corrects, votre message a peu de chance de parvenir à destination. Un gaspillage d’argent, donc, si vous envoyez de coûteux catalogues ou brochures. Il en va de même si vous approchez des relations d'affaires qui n'existent plus.
  3. Une adresse erronée entraîne donc une perte de temps. Songez aux factures ou aux offres qui parviennent à une mauvaise adresse.
  4. Les doubles enregistrements sont également une source de pollution importante dans une base de données. Utilisez donc une orthographe uniforme pour les adresses, conformément au registre officiel des rues. Vous éviterez ainsi d'envoyer deux fois un mailing ou un catalogue à un prospect.
  5. Des données actualisées sont nécessaires pour effectuer des analyses correctes et établir un profil objectif de vos clients. Il vous manque des données ou vous vous basez sur des informations obsolètes, erronées ? Dans ce cas, vous ne verrez pas les corrélations, vous tirerez des conclusions erronées et prendrez de mauvaises décisions.

Le database management en trois étapes

  • Mettre les données à jour et les entretenir. Mieux vaut contrôler votre base de données au moins une fois par an pour détecter les mutations et répercuter correctement les modifications dans votre base de données centrale.
  • Enrichir les données. Les données dont dispose déjà votre entreprise constituent le point de départ. Vous pouvez y ajouter les données manquantes, issues de sources externes (par exemple les données relatives à la solvabilité). Un fichier d’adresses complet est à la base d’une politique efficace.
  • Automatisation. Les mutations et les ajouts se déroulent automatiquement si votre base de données est associée à la base de données d'agences externes spécialisées. De cette façon, vous gardez toujours votre base de données actuelle et vous évitez qu’elle ne soit à nouveau polluée.

Travailler avec un fichier de base (master data management)

Si le database management concerne l’actualisation, l’entretien et l’enrichissement de la base de données, le master data management, pour sa part, va encore plus loin. Les master data constituent des clés uniques dans une base de données. Toutes ces clés sont enregistrées dans un fichier de base central, auquel toutes les bases de données de l’entreprise sont ensuite reliées. Lorsque des données changent, celles-ci sont automatiquement adaptées dans toutes les bases de données. Ce qui augmente l’efficacité et réduit le risque d’erreur.

Chances et opportunités du database marketing

Restez informé